h1

Unconventional Tools for Unexpected Results

December 10, 2015

*Important Crosspost – Please note my blog has MOVED to an integrated website/blog at http://www.jenniferprattartist.com/blog/   Unfortunately, I am not able to forward my followers and subscribers from this old blog to my new blog.  Traffic and subscriptions to the new site hasn’t been as great as what I still get here.  I am thinking you all haven’t found me there?!  I am cross posting this new message here and on the new blog, in hopes that my followers who got an alert and/or an email that this blog published something take a moment to subscribe at the new site! So mosey on over there and sign up for a subscription so you never miss another post.  THANK YOU!!

Pasty Chef Tool instead of Brushes

Pastry Chef Tool instead of Brushes

A few years ago I took a cold wax oil painting workshop.  The instructor had a tool that she considered to be indispensable to her cold wax process, a pastry chef’s dough scraper. We used it to spread layers of colored tinted wax smoothly. I have not tinkered with cold wax since, however I was experimenting in the studio with the pastry tool again.

Wildfire, 9x12, Oil on Canvas Panel

Wildfire, 9×12, Oil on Canvas Panel

In my continued experimentation with lost edges,  I seem to have a hard time breaking the habit of defining the form. Wiping away an edge takes courage, so much so for me, it was seeming contrived when I tried to do so. I would overthink it, when ultimately the result I was looking for was one of spontaneity and unexpected.  In attempt to break my habit I chose to lose the brush and pick up something that wouldn’t give brush-like results.

I loosely worked in the form with my brushes, then picked up with dough scraper.  Without trying to overthink it, I dragged the scraper over the form and into the edges. Some edges, like the legs felt they needed more definition so I went back with brush and re-evaluated.  In the end, the painting was so different for me, I put it aside for a couple weeks before looking at it again. This way I could evaluate with less of a personal connection. I discovered areas within the painting that were truly intriguing. I especially love the soft colour shifts in the hindend area,  it’s quite pretty (for lack of a better word) and harmonious to the eye.

DSC_0283 (1024x1024)

I plan to continue with these edge experiments and I am excited to see where I can go with this for future paintings.

To end,  I want to mention here as I have already posted on my Facebook page, I have a *sale* on four paintings I would love to see find homes by Christmas. They are listed HERE in my Etsy shop and are 25% off until 6pm PST December 13th.

~ Jennifer

Leave a comment