h1

Francis & Harry

February 1, 2012

Francis and Harry, 14x18 Oil on Canvas

Fresh from the easel are two commissioned paintings of mare and foal, Francis and Harry. I was more than halfway through these paintings when I left for my workshop with Vicki McMurry in Texas.  Needless to say, it was difficult returning infused with new knowledge but having started these paintings using my old palette and usual techniques. In order to maintain a cohesive look, I continued as I had completed the studies prior to the workshop.  For a detailed view of these paintings in progress – see my Facebook Album of Francis and Harry, HERE

Francis & Harry II, 14x18 Oil on Panel

Moving forward, I have to complete one final commission painting begun prior to my workshop experience. I expect her to be completed within the next week, then it’s play time to work in a new direction.  I am imagining some learning curves and a few paintings added to the canvas graveyard in the process 😉  However I am looking forward to  investigating the possibilities of a new palette and looser techniques.

Leave a Reply

