h1

Boldly Go!….to Sweden!!

March 11, 2010

My Dear Friends ~ I’m thrilled to announce a BIG adventure I’ve been planning behind the scene. Coming this June, I will be flying off to meet the horses and riders of Sweden!! My host is a wonderful woman by the name of Maria Lindén who resides in Älvängen, Sweden.  Maria operates a busy equestrian facility, breeds top quality sporthorses and runs a tack shop on the premises. I hope you take a moment to look at her horses and shop ~ http://www.aleridsport.nu/ ~ or try a link translated to English HERE

Her facility will be hosting a riding clinic by Dutch Showjumper Albert Voorn, June 11-13. I will be setting up a display of my artwork during the event and photographing a limited number of client commissions which I will complete back in Canada.  I anticipate staying in Sweden for two weeks, arriving several days prior to the event, then touring the country; visiting many farms and making new friends along the way.

With this announcement comes the feeling of pure excitement, intermingled with pressure and artist angst to create a  cohesive body of artwork in a relatively short time frame.  However with this angst, I feel my unwavering drive to accomplish, motivating and cheering me onto the goal. I hope you will all stay in touch, check into my blog and Facebook page often. Over the course of the next two months I will ‘paint my heart out’ !! The new works will be posted on Facebook and my Blog as I go.

A recent painting I complete  was inspired by spring approaching and Swedish adventure looming. I felt in the mood for big brushes and strong powerful palette. The painting is titled, ‘Boldly Go!’…I think it is aptly named for many reasons. It is me that is ‘Boldly Going’, this life as a horse artist, what an adventure I will make it!

Boldly Go! 12x24 oil on canvas, gallery wrap (deep edge)

2 comments

  1. Wow, that is wonderful! What an amazing opportunity to see a beautiful country, meet interesting people and do business! I traveled to Stockholm many years ago to the World Championship and it was quite an incredible experience. Stockholm is beautiful! The people are warm and very well educated. We were impressed by the fact that 95% of the population speaks English and they pride themselves in how clean and beautiful their cities are. I’m sure you will have a great experience as well!

    I’ll be looking forward to reading your blog and the wonderful paintings that will certainly be a result of this fabulous trip. Best wishes!


    • thank you so much Maggie – I am so very excited and lucky to have this opportunity. Thank you for writing and sharing your experience!



Leave a Reply

