h1

Analogous Oil Study

May 31, 2009
Analogous Colour Study, 8x10 Oil on Linen Gallery Wrap

Analogous Colour Study, 8x10 Oil on Linen Gallery Wrap

Productive day in the studio! Seems quite fitting given it is the day before my week-long painting workshop in Toronto. Yes, it is another horse eye study..Guess this one makes title of Horse Eye Study #III

If I didn’t mention it before, I’m telling you I LOVE Amazon for buying painting books. A couple weeks back, I ordered Vicki McMurry’s book, ‘Mastering Color’ :

'Mastering Color' by Vicki McMurry

'Mastering Color' by Vicki McMurry

I can’t say enough great things about this book! I love it and I love Vicki’s work! I love her bold use of colour,  her detailed explanations on colour mixing, various colour schemes..etc!  If you are a painter and love colour, I strongly recommend this book.

Today’s painting, I created using an Analogous colour scheme ~ colours beside each other on the colour wheel, which Vicki discusses in the book. Alizarin Crimson as my base, spreading out to Violet and up to Orange + Titanium White.

I quite happy with this painterly oil study. The violet and orange mixed well to get some decent greys for shadows. Pure hits of colour I used Cad Orange and Alizarin..learning to love Alizarin BTW…as long as I don’t wear white in the studio!!

Painting is very wet, so I will post a better pic when I return from my workshop. Purchase inquiries may come to me, jennifer@jennpratt.com

As always, your comments are always welcomed and enjoyed. Thanks for reading.

3 comments

  1. I absolutely love it!! The colours are so warm and inviting. I want one!!! 😀


  2. Oh, I love the color study!


  3. Jennifer,

    Your color study is simply delicious! Great job! Thanks for purchasing my book.

    Vicki McMurry



Leave a Reply

