h1

Back to see Po!

October 6, 2008
Po, by Pik Labionics

Po, by Pik Labionics

An update on Po’s commission.

A year had gone by since Rene and I met at Grandview farm in Cedar Valley to photograph his dressage mount, Po. I really wanted to go back an see him again, some time had lapsed and the references we did earlier we done under a cloudy sky..for all those who know me..I hate referencing horses under clouds!

In the end, Rene and I were so glad we waited! Over the last year Po has really filled out, grown in his topline and matured in his face. Not only did I get the sunny references I wanted, but I saw the ‘new’ version of Po!

I’m doing an oil of Po, using an old masters technique for a classical looking painting..I’m also going to do a few expressive & painterly oils for myself..I am seeing something in this shot…such lovely, sculptural lines!

Po.. with lovely lines

Po.. with lovely lines

Leave a Reply

